Our background

The United Church in Meadowood

UCiM is a place with great energy. Many exciting things happen in our building. Our current number of families is 485, members and adherents inclusive. Our average Sunday attendance is 159 people.

Worship services are held every Sunday at 10:30 am. The worship style is open and engaging with inclusive language use. We reflect the spirit of the United Church using a balance of traditional and new methods. Music is an integral part of our regular worship. Our senior choir has over 30 members and participates in worship every Sunday and presents a Christmas Cantata each year. Communion is held on the first Sunday of every month with Baptisms held usually three or four times a year. Congregants are encouraged to be involved during worship as scripture readers, by lighting the celebration candle, and during special services throughout the year.  Creative worship services are also held throughout the year, organized by the Gathering Circle.


The United Church in Meadowood began with a hope and dream to become a presence in a growing South St. Vital population. Below is a brief timeline of our history and a listing of permanent ministers.

September 27, 1979 – Our first worship service was held in the music room of Dr. D.W. Penner School.

October 1982 – Loraine McAskill becomes our first full time Minister. UCiM storefront office opens on Meadowood Street.

January 1986 – Worship services move to Dakota Collegiate.

September, 1986 – Terry Hidichuk becomes our full time Minister.

June 5, 1988 – Ground breaks for new building at 1111 Dakota Street.

March 5, 1989 – Grand opening and celebration of new church building.

July, 1995 – Tedd Dodd becomes our full time Minister.

July 1, 1999 – Linda Churchill becomes our full time Minister.

June 1, 2007 – Shelly Manley-Tannis becomes our full time Minister.

June 1, 2007 – Richard Manley-Tannis joins a growing ministry team to become our first part time, additional Minister.

September, 2004 – 25th Anniversary Celebrations at UCiM.

September, 2009 – 30th Anniversary Celebrations at UCiM.

November 10, 2013 – The United Church in Meadowood becomes the 100th United Church in Canada to become an Affirming Ministry.

July 1, 2014 – Ha Na Park and Gordon Taylor become our sixth full time Ministers, the first time we have had two full time Ministry staff at The United Church in Meadowood.

October, 2014 – 35th Anniversary Celebrations at UCiM.

Council Structure at UCiM

 Our council executive consists of: chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer. Currently we have nine committees that along with our ministers plan and carry out our ministry. These committees are: Worship, Christian Education, Finance, Stewardship, Membership and Pastoral Care, Ministry and Personnel, Outreach, Fellowship, and Property. We have a very active UCW and Men’s Group, and the Memorial Fund Trustees meet regularly. There are four lay representatives to Winnipeg Presbytery. Council meets on the second Wednesday of each month, excluding July and August. Committees meet monthly, with some meeting during an all-committees night on the fourth Wednesday of the month.

Our Vision

And the People Said

As I have learned more and spent more time here, it’s become more a discipleship opportunity.

Sunday Worship @ 10:30 am

View the complete schedule.

Happening Soon

3:00 pm Talking Teens Farm Trip
Talking Teens Farm Trip
Aug 29 @ 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Talking Teens Farm Trip
Do you remember what our last season’s theme was? Yes! Food is Sacred. More details here.
10:00 am Interpreting Whispers Starts
Interpreting Whispers Starts
Sep 17 @ 10:00 am – 12:00 am
Interpreting Whispers Starts
No registration needed. All are welcome to drop in. 10 AM. If you want to talk/text to Ha Na (204-218-3946) or email HaNa.Park@ucim.org
1:00 pm 100th Anniversary of CGIT Tea
100th Anniversary of CGIT Tea
Sep 19 @ 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
100th Anniversary of CGIT Tea
CGIT is celebrating 100 years! Come share your stories & memories.

Meadowood Monitor

Fall 2015 issue just out! _________________________________________
The United Church in Meadowood

1111 Dakota Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba
. Ph: 204 256 7002 . F: 204 256 6078 . Email Us